I did some gardening today. I got my hands dirty. At least I thought I was gardening; I found out later it was actually yard-work. There is a difference. George Harrison once said “I’m not really a career person. I’m a gardener, basically.” I can assure you that George did not do yard work. 

I wore an old pair of Levis and a Friedrich Nietzsche T-shirt. Nietzsche didn’t do yard work. Maybe Levi Strauss did. 

My job was to shove bamboo into trash bags. My brother immediately informed me that “gardening is stupid”. I informed him that he was not gardening, he was yard working. 

The first bag was easy. The second bag was just annoying. Despite my troubles, it didn’t take me too long. I rubbed some dirt on my hands, making it look like a was working really hard. I didn’t rub any on my face. 

I took a photo of a hammer in my hand to show that I had done some yard-work. I’d be a great hand-model. I washed my hands thinking about how interesting dirt is. Why would anybody want to go into pedology? 

After my long day, I sat down, and came up with 5 things I learned. 

There is a difference between gardening and yard work. 
Yard work isn’t that bad. 
Yard work isn’t that fun. 
Car alarms are annoying.
A hammer is a complex tool. 

Leave a Reply

