The world is a different place with a $5.50 cup of coffee in your hand. You notice little things that are invisible with a cup a “joe” from Coffee Bean. You pity that women with the big gulp mug of “coffee” (I hesitate to call it that) from 7-11. You can’t help but laugh when overhearing a wanna-be hipster brag about his pumpkin, gingerbread, banana spice latte from Starbucks. I get flack for buying a $5.50 cup of coffee all the time, so I decided to do the diplomatic thing, write an essay defending myself, so here we go.
I don’t look down on people who are happy with Starbucks coffee on a daily basis, rather, I congratulate them. They have managed to turn coffee in to a necessity rather than a pleasure. Coffee for me is not about the caffeine buzz (though I do enjoy it). It’s not about all the weird ingredients that I could cram into a latte. It’s about the character of the coffee, the way it plays with your tastebuds. There are no two cups of coffee that taste alike. This is why I’m willing to go to Coffee Bean, and get a cup of coffee on occasion, I don’t know what I will get. This brings me to my next point: the taste of coffee.
The trick to developing a knack for good coffee is learning how to drink it black; no milk, no sugar, just plain coffee. Why? Because it’s the product in its purest form. Would a sommelier tell you to put brandy or water in your wine? No, it’d ruin it. The same goes for coffee. When you add sugar or cream, it’s no longer coffee, it’s essentially a virgin, coffee based cocktail. The beauty of black coffee is that you’re tasting just the coffee and nothing else. It is in this form that the true colors of coffee come through, and one can safely label it as “good” or “bad”. And I’m willing to pay $5.50 for a “good” cup of coffee.
People pay hundreds of dollars for a fine bottle of wine. They’ll drop a grand for a new watch. Caviar, cigars, and truffles will regularly reach triple digits. Yet people have issues paying $5 measly dollars for a cup of coffee, because they feel that it’s a commodity to get them energized, not a median to me enjoyed. There’s nothing I can do to change our perception of coffee, but I could, and will, continue to treat it as an item of luxury, and enjoy its subtle intricacies.

Leave a Reply

